Register a new account  
Think/Feel
Forum Index   Θ   General Discussion

Reply to Topic Create a Topic
starsignal
Registered

just a page in someone's book

Post Posted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 12:49 pm      Reply with quote

When I started playing RPIs (not so very long ago), the think and feel commands were new to me. The impression I've gotten from people is that it's generally good to use them, especially because they can result in stuff like RPP, so I started trying to use them more, but most of the time it feels artificial and forced to me. As a result, I'm pretty sure most of the things my character thinks/feels wouldn't be of interest to anyone else (granted, all of us have an abundance of superfluous thoughts on any given day, but maybe that's beside the point).

Anyway, after seeing the post Throttle made in the meme thread, I'm wondering if the admin have any tips for good uses of think/feel. Should it only be used when a character has something of real consequence to consider? If we're just using it to feel like we're doing it right, is it just as well not to use it at all? Or should we think all the silly, boring, vapid stuff our characters would think about, because that's actually reminiscent of real life?

Holmes
Dictator in Absentia

Post Posted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 1:07 pm      Reply with quote

I'm personally a terrible thinker. I almost never use it, except when my PC is having some clear, internal struggle or something terrible has happened and the interesting things are happening on the inside instead of openly.

However, I love the command, and as an admin, I love when players use it effectively to convey their character's motivations. It brings characters alive in a way that can't be done simply through emoting.